Municipal Court is held on Wednesdays at 3:00 p.m., and at 4:30 p.m. You must be set with a court date to speak with the Judge for any City related matter. It is illegal for the Municipal Judge to speak with anyone outside of court.
All Juveniles (16 years and younger) are required to appear in open court before the Municipal Judge with a parent or guardian for all citations. Therefore, to take Defensive Driving juveniles must come to court and request it from the Municipal Judge.
All citations written by the Port Neches Police Department are due by the tenth business day from the day you received the citation. If you find that you cannot take care of the citation by that specified due date, you must come to the Municipal Court and complete paperwork that will allow a one-month extension. If the citation is not taken care of by the required extension date, there will be an additional $25.00 time payment fee added.
If you do not take care of the citation, get an extension, or take care of the citation by the stated extension, you will receive a past due notice setting you with a court date. If you do not appear by the court date, a warrant will be issued for your arrest.
It is the responsibility of the party who received the citation to notify the Court if the address information on the citation is incorrect, or if the address information has changed. The Court is not responsible for any notices that are not received. The notices are strictly a courtesy.
To be eligible for defensive driving, you must come to the Municipal Court by the tenth day of your citation with your proof of insurance, driver’s license and $108.00 for regular speeding citations and $128.00 for school zone citations for court costs. Once that amount has been paid, you will have 90 days to complete the course and an additional 30 days to bring back the certificate you will receive in the mail from Austin, Texas and also a certified copy of your driving record from Austin.
You may take the course from anywhere that is State certified. There is a listing of these businesses in the telephone directory under “Driver Instruction”.
If you sign up to take the class and fail to bring back the certified certificate and driving record of completion from Austin, you will be required to pay the remainder of your fine. Failure to do so will result in a warrant for your arrest.
You can only take defensive driving course for moving violations. You cannot take it for speeding violations that exceed 25 miles per hour over the speed limit.
TOBACCO /ALCOHOL AWARENESS:
All offenses for Tobacco and Alcohol Awareness require the subject to appear in open court before the Judge. Fines and punishments are determined by the Judge and are mandated by State law.
Guilty: When wanting to pay a fine or take defensive driving.
Nolo Contendere (No Contest): When wanting to pay a fine or take defensive driving, and not contesting the citation. This plea is considered a plea of guilty in the State of Texas, however, it cannot be held against the individual in a civil suit.
Not Guilty: When wanting to contest a citation. Any individual wishing to enter this plea must contact the Deputy Court Clerk on or before tenth business day. The individual will then be given the option of Trial by Judge or Trial by Jury. Notification of the trial date will be mailed to the individual.
If you are represented by an attorney, the attorney must send written notification to the Court by the due date of the violation.