Calendar calendar
Search search
Driver Safety Course

Driver Safety Course (DSC)

If you wish to take the DSC, please begin by appearing at the Clerk’s window.

You can only take a Driving Safety Course for moving violations.  You are not allowed to take the course if:
  1. Violations cited for 25 miles per hour or more over the speed limit (Article 45.0511(c)(4), Code of Criminal Procedures).
  2. You hold a Commercial Driver’s License (Article 45.0511(a), Code of Criminal Procedures).
  3. You have already taken the course in the past 12 months.
  4. Offenses committed in a construction zone when workers were present (Sections 472.002, 543.404 and 729.004, Transportation Code).
  5. Offense of passing a school bus loading or unloading children or for the offense of leaving the scene of an accident (Sec. 550.022 or 550.023, Transportation Code).
Defendants 17 years and older must present to the Clerk the following:
  1. Proof of valid insurance
  2. Valid Texas driver’s license
  3. $144.00 fee for regular moving violations
  4. $169.00 fee for citations issued in a school zone
You will have 90 days to complete the course and to submit the court copy of the certificate and certified copy 3A of your driving record.
The course may be completed online or in person as long as the course is administered by a TDLR approved instructor. A list of approved courses can be obtained online at

A certified copy 3A of your driving record can be obtained at

Failure to complete the Driving Safety Course in the amount of time allotted will result in a show cause notice or you being required to pay the remainder of your fine and court costs. If you fail to comply, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. Failure to comply will result in a conviction on your driving record.
Please NOTE- If the Court does not receive your request by certified mail, or in person, by the initial appearance answer date, you are no longer eligible for the Driver Safety Course (DSC).

Southeast Texas Alerting Network STAN

STAN can call you at home, but it's important to register your cell phone too.