Calendar calendar
Search search
Civil Service Commission

The purpose of the Port Neches Fire Fighters' and Police Officers' Civil Service Commission is to secure efficient fire and police departments composed of capable personnel who are free from political influence and who have permanent employment tenure as public servants.

The members of the Fire Fighters' and Police Officers' Civil Service Commission shall administer this chapter in accordance with this purpose.

The commission consists of three members appointed by the municipality's chief executive (City Manager) and confirmed by the governing body of the municipality.  Members serve staggered three-year terms with the term of one member expiring each year.

In addition, the commission members shall appoint a director. The director shall serve as secretary to the commission and perform work incidental to the civil service system as required by the commission.

The commission holds no less than one meeting each year with the election of a Chairman and Vice-Chairmen at the annual meeting held in January of each year.

The current members of the commission are:

Bill Carlsen, Chairman (Term expires October 1, 2024)

Randy Kimler, Vice-Chairman (Term expires October 1, 2026)

Stephen Vincent, Member (Term expires October 1, 2025)

Southeast Texas Alerting Network STAN

STAN can call you at home, but it's important to register your cell phone too.